Other

Six Free Educational Resources

For those of you who like learning, I have a few links to share with y’all that you may or may not know about, just because it’s fun.  And free, so why not?  Do you want to be known for checking Facebook at all hours of the day, or for knowing quantum physics and speaking Italian??

First – https://www.coursera.org/ where you can take classes for free from places like Stanford and possibly get a certificate of completion/possibly college credit. And those friends I met from University of Illinois: Urbana-Champaign, there are classes from your school as well, so I’m almost positive you could get some free credits. I’ve enrolled in too many classes to keep up with. It’s too cool. (there’s some from the University of Tokyo (Todai!) in the fall!)

Second – https://www.khanacademy.org/ where you can get free lessons about a lot of different subjects (though there is quite a lot more of math and science from what I’ve seen). Taught mainly by two people with three to four degrees from places like Harvard and MIT. @_@ An interesting community/volunteer-dependent translation system, so many of the videos are in quite a lot of different languages.

Third – http://duolingo.com/ for language learning. Currently not that many languages to choose from (no Russian, sadly) but really makes you practice the reading, writing, listening, and speaking. Apparently there’s been research done and it works better than Rosetta Stone (might have been research funded by DuoLingo, but still, FREE).

Fourth/fifth – Speaking of language learning, two blogs that have some unconventional language learning advice and I find to be motivating (and though the one says All Japanese All the Time he writes in a way that is applicable to any language – the other one I haven’t explored too much but I like what I’ve read so far):
http://www.alljapaneseallthetime.com/blog/
http://www.fluentin3months.com/

Sixth – This last one isn’t really education related (though I would say it’s physical education), and I blogged about it more in depth earlier, but just in case people didn’t read that post I felt it deserved a spot on this list too.  It’s an exercise program I’ve fallen in love with for four main reasons: 1. It’s free and you don’t need any equipment, all the videos are on YouTube, 2. She makes a calendar each month with each day being a different schedule of exercises (I need variety or I get bored and quit), 3. It’s so challenging, I know I have such a long way to go, and 4. I just find her motivating, with her recipes, blogs, etc.http://www.blogilates.com/

If you have any more to share with me, please do!!

Share your thoughts

