Blog / Uncategorized

Like a Bear Coming Out of Hibernation…

…I return to you now, at the turn of the tide. I think I’ve mixed my metaphors again.

Anyway, I’ve been gone for a long time again. It’s not a good excuse, but I hit another rough patch and I had a hard time doing anything. But awhile ago, just before I went of the grid, I had decided to do the Zero to Hero challenge. Kind of funny that I come back this late now, since the first day of it I kept refreshing the page to see what the challenge would be. It didn’t start until January 2nd, and being in Japan this meant I had to wait even longer. Now it’s over, but I think I’d still like to do some of it. After all, I’m still a fairly new blogger (considering post count rather than time), and there is always room for improvement.

First though, in that interest, I wanted to note that I’ve changed my mind a little bit on how often I will post. I noticed that if I post every day, I find myself hesitating to write about truly meaningful things, since that would mean they don’t get the time they deserve. Also, that my overall writing suffers. I’d like to change that so I can deliver quality posts, rather than just a blur of words. So, instead, while I will still write every day, I will publish a post two or three times a week. If as I get better I find myself able to produce higher quality blogs the same day I may change, but for now I think this is what will be best for me and my readers.

So first, I will answer the questions from Day 1 of the Zero to Hero challenge.

Why are you blogging, rather than keeping a personal journal?

  • I’ve tried keeping a personal journal a few times throughout my life. I think the first time was probably to copy Harriet the Spy. However – it’s really hard for me to keep up with it, and it feels kind of pointless if no one’s going to read it. Also it adds some anxiety to my life that someone might find it and read it.
  • They also tend to be purely emotional ramblings. If I blog instead, I put more thought into and think it through before I publish it (generally). So, I think this is a better way to improve my writing as well, although the latter might be better for poetry topics.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

  • It will probably be a variety of things, as it has been until now, reflecting the things I’m most interested. Since when I revived this blog I was in Japan or about to go to Japan, much of it has revolved around Japanese culture, food, and my travels. I love traveling, so regardless of where I go, I will probably want to talk about it and take way too many pictures of it. I would be so happy if I could be a travel writer some day. I want to see the world.
  • I’m also very interested in human rights, books, language, music, exercise, international relations, history, and everything in between, so I wouldn’t be surprised if any or all of it crops up at some point in time. Much of it has already, at least in some form or another.
  • I also would love to be a fiction writer, but it’s probably the hardest writing to share publicly. For two reasons – for some reason it feels more personal than even my personal blogs, and the second is I’m a little bit worried about copyright. I’ll have to look into it more before I post too much. I also like poetry, thought I’m not entirely convinced I have any talent for it at all, I enjoy playing with words.
  • My camera is attached to my hip, especially when I travel, so photos are also a given. I try to post only the ones I’m proud of. I’ve never taken a photography course, so if anyone has advice to give me or notices consistent mistakes I’m making, I’d be happy to hear what you have to say.
  • I’ve also long enjoyed making art, and if I get back into it again and find I have something worthy of sharing, that will probably appear as well.
  • And, of course, there will be blogs where I talk about my life and the going-ons therein.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

  • Overall, anyone who connects with me, I suppose. Whether you are interested in the same things as I am or enjoy my writing style, I’d be happy to hear from you. I’m happy to hear critiques as well, as long as they’re worded with respect, i.e. more like a wizard and less like a troll. There’s still a lot I don’t know, and a lot I’d like to learn. Sometimes I may make ignorant assumptions. Please correct me (again, respectfully). Sometimes you may disagree with me. I’d love to talk about it in a way that doesn’t degenerate to name calling and swearing.
  • I appreciate comments, they make my day! Reminds me that someone is reading and motivates me to keep writing. Feel free to express your thoughts on a given subject or share a related experience.
  • Anyone who can connect me with a writing job (lawl jk but seriously)

If you blog successfully throughout 2014, what would you hope to have accomplished?

  • My end goal is to have something, short story, article, photo, anything, published before the end of the year. My overall goal is to grow as a writer, photographer, story-teller, and to meet people I can connect with, and gain more self-discipline as well as confidence. Lofty goals, perhaps, but not impossible.

It’s possible some of the answers to these questions might change throughout the year, but I think for the most part they will stay the same. Wish me luck and grant me feedback. =)

6 thoughts on “Like a Bear Coming Out of Hibernation…

    • Haha yeah I thought Harriet was the coolest!!! A lot of movies made me want to be a spy, but that was one that made me think I could be.

      Thank you!! ❤

  1. Pingback: Reflections for the Weekly Writing Challenge | Greaner Pastures

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award Nomination | An Inkling

Share your thoughts

