Blog

A Few Updates

I’m sorry I went a week without posting. I had a huge translation due, a huge application due, another little application, and Yuuki’s family came to help him move back near Tokyo so it was the last couple days I could Skype with him for a week. So – busy. And buy the time that was done, my eyes were so red I just couldn’t go near a computer for more than a few minutes at a time. They’re still pretty red, but I want to keep this blog updated and I missed writing here.

The huge application was for a writing gig…so of course the application was pretty writing-focused. If I get it, I’ll let you know! The small one was for a part time job working at a cafeteria. Despite that huge job I got, overall translating jobs are few and far between. I need the moneh.

In other news, I started doing Heisig’s Remember the Kanji method. It’s a really new way at looking at kanji for me, and most of the time, very helpful. He teaches you how to look for stories in kanji – how to match up the parts so you remember both how to write them and what their meaning is. I’ve been doing 20 a day so far. It’s definitely still challenging, even knowing a lot of them before I set out on this quest. But I’m already starting to notice the ones I hadn’t known in my readings elsewhere. And oddly enough, it feels good to write kanji again. I think I miss school. Actually, I know I do, but I didn’t really consider the actual learning as part of what I missed. I thought I mainly missed the people and the environment, but I do miss the classes and learning. I guess maybe I should actually follow through with a Coursera class one of these days…

My sister’s home from college for the week too, so we’ve been hanging out, watching Dollhouse with our cats, like we do.

I’m also desperately trying to get back into exercising, but failing just as desperately. I just realized I can’t spell desperately right. I feel like the more kanji I gain, the more English spelling I lose. My head is sloshing its knowledge, like a bucket that’s being shaken and water falls out from each side. Except the water’s grey matter.

See? This is what happens when you let me blog when I’m sleepy.

Eh, lately I’m almost always sleepy, so I guess you’ll just have to get used to weird metaphors. That, or unsubscribe (please don’t leave me).

Speaking of which, I reached over 50 followers!! Thank you so much for reading my posts. I know it says well over that on my page, but they include Twitter followers, which is kind of cheating, methinks.

Before I get to 100 I’m thinking of changing my blog’s name, but I haven’t come up with anything yet. The name “Greaner Pastures” was born from a Facebook post in which I asked my friends what I should call my blog, and nearly everyone ‘liked’ that one. I liked it enough to use it too, but now I’m realizing it might not fit me as well as I initially thought. I think it will make more people mispronounce my name (it’s pronounced Grey-ner, not Green-er) or make them think I blog about cows.

I am from Wisconsin, and cows do occasionally wander into my post, that is true. But it is not what I’m about.

But what am I about? That’s the tricky thing. Hopefully I’ll come up with something soon. I was also experimenting with different backgrounds, but I realized that no matter what background I chose, it made the front page photo reel take a super long time to load. No one’s going to stick around, or even know to stick around if that’s the case. So instead I just changed the color. I think I might change it up more often.

I think that’s it for now. Thanks again for reading!

 

One thought on “A Few Updates

  1. Pingback: Name Change | An Inkling

Share your thoughts

