Photography

The Threshold

183744_316513719958_5193331_n

 

I often get asked what my favorite place in Japan was, and it’s a really hard question for me to answer. Do I pick something traditional like my favorite shrine, or do I pick something more modern like my favorite concert? In the end I always end up picking the train station.

I get some weird looks when I say this, but it’s true. The start of most of my journeys happened on a platform. Living where I do, where a car is needed to go anywhere outside of your neighborhood, looking down the tracks and realizing the sheer amount of possible destinations at my fingertips was more than a little exciting to me. I loved the train, and I never minded waiting for one, either, since there were always interesting people walking about. Once a week, one of my friends and I would pick a random train station that we’d never been to and explore it, and it’s one of my favorite memories. I miss that freedom, and my companions.

 

I took this when I studied abroad two and half years ago, so unfortunately I don’t remember exactly where I took it, but I know it was Osaka or Kyoto. Not sure whether this is dawn or dusk either, but let’s claim dawn and add another meaning to the word “threshold” in this picture. Uploaded for the Weekly Photo Challenge (a little late – this is technically last week’s).

Share your thoughts

