Blog

Liebster Award Nomination

At first when I read all the rules I was a little hesitant about doing it, since it is sort of patterned after all those awful chain letters. However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that it’s actually a pretty cool tool for discovering new blogs and finding out more about the people I follow. Also, because you’re only supposed to nominate blogs with under 1,000 followers, it’s a good way to get people to view the less popular blogs. I hope all the people I nominate choose to continue it, mostly because I’m selfishly curious to see what your answers to my questions are.

Thank you to rroopeshkumar who nominated me for this award! His posts always take me to another world, with his style that blurs the line between poetry and prose.

You can check out his blog at: http://rroopeshkumar.wordpress.com/

liebster21

Aww it’s all shiny and stuff

Here are ze rules:

The Official Liebster Award Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Display the award somewhere on your blog.
  3. List 11 facts about yourself.
  4. Answer 11 questions chosen by the blogger who nominated you.
  5. Come up with 11 new questions to ask your nominees.
  6. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you think deserve the award and who have less than 1,000 followers.  (You many nominate blogs that have already received the award, but you cannot renominate the blog that nominated you.)
  7. Go to their blog and inform them that they’ve been nominated.

 

Questions for me from roopesh:

1. Why do you write?

I have actually already answered this in a couple of previous posts.

2. Which emotion do you love to convey while writing?

Hmm. I guess the emotions that I would like to convey to people, if you can call them emotions, are childlike wonder, and/or empathy. Childlike wonder because it’s something I valued in stories I read growing up. It’s one of the things that attracted me to books – it was magic to me how simply reading the words could transport me to the streets of London in the 1700’s, or to a fictional world full of dragons and kender. That sense of wonder gave me hope and made real life better.

Empathy because I think it’s something the world lacks a lot of, and one of the few ways to get people to think from another person’s perspective is through a story. It’s easy to get lost in statistics and brush it off as not mattering. But stories (good ones anyway) make you feel a range of emotions through somebody else. I think this too, can have repercussions in the real world.

However I realized through my creative writing class when we had to analyze our own fiction, that in a lot of my work loneliness is a theme that pulls through.

3. What’s your philosophy of life?

I don’t think I really have one yet. I don’t know if I’ll ever have one that can be pinned down so easily. I have a lot of little quotes I connect with and live by, but not one overarching “Life is _____ .”

For instance, a quote that I believe rings* true is one from (I know this will surprise you after my last post) The Lord of the Rings: “All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost.” I’ve been known to use it on college and job applications.

Another one I used to try to live by was the quote from Eleanor Roosevelt, to “do one thing every day that scares you.” I say used to because, though I didn’t always succeed, I really tried to push myself while I was in Japan. Lately now that I’m back in the states I haven’t been doing it that much, I’ve been kind of a cat lady hermit. Budget issues are partially a reason, partially an excuse. I liked it because it forces you out of your comfort zone, but at the same time it’s one thing. It’s manageable. You can do your one thing and then go relax with a margarita (unless you’re scared of limes, then that could be your one thing).

And of course, plenty of quotes from my other main squeeze (sorry Tolkien, but there’s room in my heart for both of you):

66cf55cd7c55b87ddf392993febfe4b7

I know this is in another post of mine too, but it’s still a beautiful sentiment.

4. The most memorable instance in your life.

Honestly, there’s so many little ones I can’t pick one. I’ll just list off a bunch of little ones.

Walking down my driveway after jogging and the moment he sees me, my kitty running straight towards me. Painting a set for our play in the airport with my Destination Imagination crew, when my friend meant to call me a ‘douche bag’ but instead called me a ‘bouche dag.’ Taking candy from a yakuza. Seeing Yuuki for the first time in my life and thinking, “wow, he is so handsome…no way he’ll ever be interested in me.” Hearing that I inspired someone. Jogging by the river and eating cheesecake afterwards. Gleefully and giggle-y singing “Blow My Whistle” with my cousin and sister on our drive to Chicago. Watching The Mighty Boosh with one of my friends while eating Alfort chocolate and drinking C. C. Lemon. Learning army moves with my dad. Performing Soran Bushi. Going to anime conventions in cosplay. Looking for geocaches in parks with my friend and mostly failing. DDR parties. Taking a paddle boat on the lake with my grandma and eating butter and jelly sandwiches. Jumping out from behind the door and scaring Yuuki so bad he almost fell down. Visiting my other grandma and seeing what neon color she had dyed her hair that month. Giving a speech on Atlantis after my teacher specifically told me not to. Hearing my cat’s distinctive double meow, “mr-mrow!” My friend and I having our computers talk to each other, with one turning out to be a psycho bitch and the other a manic-depressive. Traveling to a random station every week with a friend in Japan and simply wandering. Exploring Miyajima with an older Japanese lady who I was surprised I had so much in common with. Snorting with laughter for hours after my friend made a strange face at McDonald’s. Seeing my grandpa chuckle at a joke I made. Making eye contact with Miyavi. Eating pig cupcakes with my sister while watching some nerdy show. Swimming and fishing with cousins. Having debates about life, love, the universe, religion, and the point of everything with a friend. Getting a hug from Amanda Palmer. Seeing Yuuki again for the first time in 11 months. Watching my friend smear highlighter on the face of a guy who had been bullying me. Hearing every dinkly-doo weird combination of words my mom comes up with. Singing “Forget You” at karaoke with all my study abroad friends. Playing video games with my brother. Teaching my other brother kanji and hearing him make up a song about how he ‘knows how to draw volcano’ (those were the exact lyrics, chorus, verse, and bridge). Getting the highest marks at an art contest in high school. Writing and leaving notes on a board in my college library with my roommate and a friend about ‘how to massage your cat.’ Watching someone put on a play I wrote. Every inside joke I’ve ever had.

264809_367890099958_4337822_n

This is how we left the board, full of notes on how to properly massage your cat. Very educational.

Crap, I really miss all my friends now.

5. Arrange in your priority order: Romance, Money, Help, Forgiveness, and Hope.

Help, Hope, Romance, Forgiveness, Money.

6. If you are given the power to be God for a day, what will you do?

I hope that never happens because the world would be flooded with dinosaurs or dragons depending on my age, and it would be an epic apocalypse.

Just kidding, sort of. Obviously I would like to end the suffering of people and animals in this world. God doesn’t seem to be into that too much though (more concentrated on making Heaven heavenly, I suppose), so I guess practically speaking I think I would make it possible for humans to travel to other uninhabited planets and make a home there. That might solve some of the problems, at least for a while.

7. Name three people you would die for.

Can’t choose only three. Too many people I love more than life.

8. What’s your biggest fear in life?

That I’ll have more regrets than happiness.

9. If you are given a time machine, will you change anything in the past?

There’s so many movies about how ultimately horrible (The Butterfly Effect) or creepy (Back to the Future) that it could turn out that, I probably wouldn’t. I’ve sometimes thought that I’d like to re-live areas of my life knowing what I know now, with the power to change it. I think that would be different than time travel though. Sci-fi purists? What say ye?

10. The city you would love to settle down for your life.

I’ve thought about this a lot, but I still don’t have an answer. Kyoto is probably my favorite city, but I’m not sure that means that I’d want to settle down there, or even in Japan. I haven’t even decided whether I would would want to settle down in an urban or rural environment. I love the air and water and trees of the rural areas…but I miss the international atmosphere and constant on-goings of cities too.

11. Happiness is? Complete the line.

Life with minimal regrets and no jealousy.

11 random facts about me:

  1. I think crooked willows are the coolest trees that have ever existed. Google that shit. They have crooked leaves and crooked branches. I have one and it’s my baby.
  2. I desperately want a tattoo but can’t think of anything I want enough to permanently put on my skin.
  3. When I was little I wanted to be a paleontologist or a storm chaser. For Christmas and birthdays I used to get those kits from the Discovery Channel to dig up fake bones, and a couple of times my friend and I filmed storms.
  4. I used to make Anime music videos, but now I just watch them as a guilty pleasure. Editing is very interesting, but painful, and I have so much respect for those who make amazing ones.
  5. I am a huge klutz, and have powers that even pass my klutziness to others. One time I was out on the balcony at my dad’s apartment enjoying the view, and the moment I looked down at this guy, from 26 floors away, he tripped and spilled all of his paperwork all over the steps. I also almost caused an avalanche at my college by tripping up the stairs…twice in a space of five seconds. It’s not as glamorous as in the movies, trust me. Attractive men don’t catch you and hand your your book in slow motion with their green eyes twinkling. Everyone just stares at you with the letters w, t, and f wafting across their foreheads.
  6. Despite being a total klutz, I have pretty good hand-eye coordination. I blame the video games.
  7. I have really poor eyesight; the lenses in my glasses are very thick. I blame this also on video games, and that when I was little I used to read in the car. Sometimes at night, I would hold my book up and read as the lights from street lamps passed by.
  8. The most Wisconsin-ian thing about me is my love of cheese. Havarti… ❤ Japan is sometimes a hard place to be when you love cheese.
  9. I really want to visit or live for a few years in Europe some day, especially England. British literature (obviously) and British comedy has had a pretty big influence on me (*coughSimonPeggmarrymecough*)
  10. Russian is a language I’ve always wanted to learn, but I’ve never gotten very far. People say Japanese is hard, but yeesh…Russian grammar…
  11. I think o-yaji gyagu are pretty punny.

 

My nominees:-

http://expatamerica.wordpress.com/

http://quiteawkward.wordpress.com/

http://milkteamusings.blogspot.com/

http://wordsacrossborders.wordpress.com/

http://japan-aholic.com/

http://goddrugsandthugs.com/

http://cgayleguevara.wordpress.com/

http://theswedishafrican.wordpress.com/

http://redswrap.wordpress.com/

http://lowflyingjet.wordpress.com/

http://adventurexclamationmark.wordpress.com/

http://goldensunrays.org/

http://plantedinthesky.wordpress.com/

http://cosmicheroism.wordpress.com/

http://daydreamingintothenight.wordpress.com/

Questions for all my nominees:

  1. Why do you write?
  2. How was your day today?
  3. What is your favorite myth or folk tale and why?
  4. If you could have any Pokemon wander around with you like Pikachu does with Ash, which one would it be? (there aren’t supposed to be right or wrong answers, but…just so you know, if your answer is anything other than charmander, you’re wrong).
  5. Is there a book you think everyone should read at least once in their lifetime?
  6. Do you have a personal motto?
  7. Which of your posts are you most proud of?
  8. What’s your biggest fear in life?
  9. What is your favorite thing about yourself?
  10. What city would you love to settle down in?
  11. What fictional character would you want to be best friends with?

 

Let me know if you decide to take up the call to arms! Can’t wait to see what your answers are.

 

Edit: Looks like I nominated 15 blogs, not 11, oops. They’re all worth checking out.

* Totally unintentional.

6 thoughts on “Liebster Award Nomination

  1. Thanks for those compliments 😛 Your answers are so true and so amazing. When I saw the list of your best instances, i was wondering why did God didn’t give me such a good memory, truly awesome 🙂 And by the way your happiness and fear are interlinked with the word regret!
    The important thing that i realized while i was filling in my answers was that it made me look back at our past and cherish those moments. It’s true even for the 11 facts about ourselves, it does provide us with a smile.

  2. Love this! Love it all! Especially with your supposed power to pass on your klutziness… hehe.. 😛 I just recalled visiting you in Wisconsin. SO GLAD I DID! Miss you! 😀

    • Oh, believe me, there’s nothing supposed about my klutziness powers…it’s fact. When we ate a ninja cafe, the ninja dropped his scroll. A *ninja.*

      I’m so glad you did too!! Highlight of my spring. I miss you a ton, and I was just thinking about your visit recently. I hope we can see each other again soon!!

  3. Pingback: Liebster! | Words Across Borders

Share your thoughts

