Blog

Miss You, Jasper

Note: If you’ve recently lost a pet, or even not-so-recently, you may not want to read this post, or skip to the section below the picture.

I realize now that it’s been a week since my last post. And I still haven’t done part three about Takeda Jō (Part I, Part II), but kind of a lot has happened in my little world.

The first thing is that, less than an hour after I wrote that post, one of our cats got her claw stuck on a blanket and fell, fracturing her arm. We rushed to animal vet, where we waited about five hours. Apparently that day a lot of animals were in need of immediate surgery.

Unfortunately for us, it turned out our cat most likely had had bone cancer for a long time, and our choices were to amputate her leg, or put her to sleep. We have faced this exact choice before with my childhood best friend, Punky (sadly a shot supposed to prevent cancer had given her cancer in her leg), and it was a position none of us wanted to be in again, least of all my little sister. My sister was Jasper’s person. Jasper was her best friend, and the one she missed most while she was at college. But at that age…there is no way they can adjust to a broken leg, and a splint would do nothing. She looked so confused and kept trying to walk. it broke my heart.

Jasper had started off as ‘my cat,’ since she was given to us by my third grade teacher, who had found her and her twin (who we named Casper, and also had to be put asleep last year) on the side of the road in a plastic bag, still tiny enough to fit in your palm (seriously, people disgust me sometimes). They were even still suckling.

So, she’s been with us for about 15-16 years, and she was a lovely cat. But even though she was originally given to me, she and my sister were the ones with a special bond, that is for sure.

Anyway, the welling of tears in my throat is why I haven’t finished the post I had planned about losing a pet and how precious my cats are and have been to me, so I won’t go into it that deeply now. But I’ve been feeling a lot of regret, for every time I ignored her or didn’t pet her or didn’t trim her claws…She is missed so much. I keep expecting to see her. I’m glad we gave her longer than the cruel person who put her in a bag intended to, but I still wish we had a lot more time together. I wish I had been kinder; I was always so preoccupied, even with our other cats, and I always knew she was my sister’s cat and when my sister came home for the summer she’d be cuddled all day e’ry day…but then this happened. I’m so sorry Jasper.

 

423776_10151581305538592_776679767_n

My sister and Jasper a year ago.

 

In other news, I got a seasonal job in retail. Unfortunately my orientation day wasn’t long after, and the orientation videos were all scratched up. Too much silence = I think too much and I almost started crying picturing a time she tried to cuddle with me and I got up to do something else (she did have a talent for that though – picking the exact time you wanted to move to come and join you).

But it’s been going alright so far. At least I get to be with flowers again. I worked at a flower mart two years ago and it’s nice being outside (or at least, kind of outside) and being surrounded by beautiful blossoms. This time flowers are only like a third of my department though, so I have a lot to learn about garden equipment, grills, lawn furniture, etc. My current schedule has been pretty messed up too – still used to going to sleep at 2 – 3 a.m., so now with the wrench of waking up at 8 a.m. and being there for 9 hours, I’ve become kind of a zombie. Trying to rectify that though.

People seem nice though, if hurried. And it looks like I’ll be working quite a bit. Which is good, I really need the money and I like being busy and keeping my mind off of things, but it’s going to be harder now to be able to Skype with Yuuki, hang out with my sister, blog, exercise, do my flashcards, write, etc. But I’m going to try to keep it up.

I’ve also been having phone interviews for a few positions scattered about the states for Americorps, so here’s hoping.

Yuuki’s still waiting on his transcripts so he can apply to American schools. He called them finally after I bugged him about it, and they were finally sending them that very day. Convenient.

He and one of my best friends sent me packages, and both of them arrived on the same day. Needless to say, that was the best day of my week. I miss them both so much. My friend sent me games for the DS in Japanese so now on my lunch breaks at my new job, I’m the geek playing Pokemon in Japanese! And I love it.

Anyway, I hope my week long absence didn’t make you guys forget about me or give up on my blog; I’ll try to stay true to my 2-3 posts per week goal from now on. Please feel free to tell me if there’s anything you want to see me write about too – I have a lot of drafts saved, but it always helps to know what my audience wants as well.

Thanks for being awesome.

One thought on “Miss You, Jasper

  1. Pingback: A Dog Person Meets a Cat | An Inkling

Share your thoughts

