Poetry

Vesuvius

I never underestimate laughter,

hiding in old boxes and young wrinkles.

It begins or ends with a disaster.

 

I caught on when the schoolyard taunts turned the aster

to rot, and the ground ashen with sprinkles;

I sometimes underestimate laughter.

 

The bodies of Pompeii were found after

a realization so simple;

A moment can be frozen by disaster.

 

No more tumbling gravely on a rafter

above dull cinder; I decide it twinkles.

I rarely underestimate laughter.

 

And so initiates a new chapter.

Tragedy or comedy, find the symbols;

One begins and one ends in disaster.

 

Certainty is a balm that works faster.

Blaze the trail with confident cymbals.

I never underestimate laughter.

It begins or ends with a disaster.

 

 

Written for a class assignment for a poetry class, my first attempt at a villanelle.

Share your thoughts

