Uncategorized

Happy Hobbit Day!

Mae govannen, mellons!

Today should have been a happy day, because I love hobbits. It wasn’t, however, it was the day where my guilt at not updating my blog runneth over, and we have this post. I have a lot of things I want to write about, but so much has happened that it becomes a case of, ‘where do I begin?’

So I need to sit down and put things into lists and temporary blog titles. I’ve decided to change my goal amount of posts a week from 2-3 to 1-2. I think you may have noticed that this whole 2-3 thing overwhelms me and I write nothing. That’s sort of true, anyway. It’s more that life itself has been overwhelming me. I apologize that this blog post is kind of all over the place. But at this point in time…it kind of has to be.

What I should write about today is my love of Lord of the Rings(which I’ve alluded to before), but I just don’t have the time to make it as good/thorough as I’d like. It was also the day I was to make lembas and ent draught, but that’s not going to happen.

Yeah, I’m that kind of nerd.

I’d apologize but I don’t feel apologetic about it.

Do you know why today is Hobbit Day? It is the mutual birthday of these two wonderful hobbits, Bilbo and Frodo (I just found out there’s even a wiki for Hobbit Day (which also taught me there’s a day for the fall of Sauron…so going on my kitten calendar)). So take a minute to wish them a very happy birthday.

 

tumblr_mar4cxbnvN1r7l4hp

 

 

I know I sound like some crazy lady with some sort of weird Middle-Earth-influenced disease – no, wait, that is what  I am. It’s contagious too – my siblings and friends caught it. Even Yuuki is now reading The Hobbit. I didn’t even force him to. I don’t think this disease will ever go away. And I don’t particularly want it to.

So go out and eat lembas, don’t shave your feet, or simply buy some popcorn and watch one of the many movies (my vote is on the cartoon version of The Hobbit…extinguish meeeeeeeeeeee). However you want to celebrate this most esteemed of days, do it with pride.

 

1237600_575033322561064_783643184_n

 

Happy Hobbit Day to one and all. Stay fuzzy-footed*.

 

* Maybe that could become a Hobbit Day tradition? Buying each other fuzzy socks? Eh? Eh?

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Hobbit Day!

  1. Pingback: “It was a hobbit hole, and that means comfort.” | An Inkling

Share your thoughts

