Blog / Other

Goals for 2015

Yuuki and I decided this year to write up our goals for this year so they feel a little more “set in stone (paper).” I figured I’d share them here to make it even harder for me to go back on them. Without further ado, here are my resolutions.

Best way to start the new year: cats and alcohol.

Best way to start the new year: cats and alcohol.

  • Write at least one page of fiction per day. I’ve tried variations of this many times. Write one paragraph, one page, for one hour, etc. But if I simply say “write” then I usually end up finding an escape for myself like, “well, I wrote one really long email to my Russian teacher and one really long email to my friend, so…check!” or “this past hour I was supposed to be writing but instead I’m reading Cicero’s wikipedia entry…meh, I’m sure I’ll use it in something some day. Check!” Hence the need for the addition of “of fiction.” Also, one page is pretty doable, but of course ideally I’ll write more than that. Even if I don’t, at least I’ll have written 365 pages of something by the end of 2015.
  • Call or Skype someone at least once a week. I’m kind of a hermit if allowed to be one, and the longer I am one without being checked, the more I stay one, if that makes sense. And then I dislike myself more, and miss people more, but still don’t reach out. If I don’t talk to someone in a long time, I feel more anxious about talking to anyone. If I talk to someone more regularly, then I’m more likely to stay in contact with everyone. Werid, huh?
  • Exercise at least three times a week for one hour. Another common one that’s easy to dodge (especially when you don’t have a car) by saying “welllll I walked all the way to CVS today, so, we’re good.” And an hour is usually how long my jog or pilates routine ends up being anyway. Ideally I’d do this more in 4-to-6-day-a-week range, but again, putting the bar a little bit lower so I’ll be able to keep up even on the bad weeks (cue lowered expectations SNL jingle).
  • Pass the JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test). A little bit more of a challenge, seeing as I have failed it twice. In my defense, something bad/emotional happened to me directly before both times, but in not my defense, I didn’t study as much as I could have. I’m not putting a level down until September when registration is usually due and I know more of where I’m at, but it will either be level one or two. Most of my Japanese-speaking friends have passed level two already so I feel a little pathetic going for it again (especially if I fail a third time), so I’d really like to pass level one. But level one also sounds like a nightmare filled with keigo and unused grammar and archaic kanji, so…we’ll see.
  • Make at least one piece of finished art per month. In contrast to the others, I’ve left this one purposefully vague. I love art, I miss it terribly, and there’s too many different things I love doing. However, I’m bad at finishing anything artwork. I’m better at writing and have more chance of making that into a career, too, I believe, and I’ve also been more consistent (hard to believe looking at this blog, I know) with my writing. So for now, that’s the habit I’d like to develop. But like I said, I miss art-ing so much. I keep buying dipping pens and watercolors and clay when I see it on sale…and then not using them. That has to change. I didn’t let myself buy charcoal the other day because I haven’t touched my watercolors yet. But I still want the charcoal…
  • Update my blog at least once a week. I didn’t forget about this, my place to ramble and occasionally be graced with a comment (seriously, they make my day). My original goal was 2 – 3 times per week, but again, in the interest of following through with it…
  • Be more active in writing communities. Namely, WordPress and the writer’s circle I’m a part of. I’d like to eventually have a blog that I can ask questions to my readers…and have more than zero – one answer. I think I’ll enjoy blogging more and be more productive if I have a more vocal audience, and I think a large part of that is being a more vocal audience member myself. So, that is definitely something I have to work on.
  • Follow the advice of the people I admire (too many people to list). Seriously, self. There’s a reason why you admire them.
  • Eat healthier. Everyone makes this resolution, rarely do they keep it. But I have been making some strides (you wouldn’t know it this week due to the ordering out we’ve done thanks to it being too cold to go get groceries and the most convenient bus line stopping) in the past half a year or more of changing my diet. I’m even noticing a change in what foods sound appetizing to me. It’s a nice change, and I hereby resolve to continue it into the new year.
  • Create some form of art/writing combo I’ve never done at least 4 times this year. Like a comic essay, a la The Oatmeal and Hyperbole and a Half. Looks super fun. I’m not sure what other things there are (other than a straight-up comic) but if you have any ideas let me know.

This looks like a lot of goals, but obviously, quite a few of my goals are overlapping or overlap-able. In the end I want to make 2015 the most productive year of my life thus far, at least creatively speaking. I want Neil Gaiman’s words “Make. Good. Art.” to be the theme.

I’d put work-related goals in there too, but honestly I have no idea where I’ll be in the next year. I have to make a big decision by April, and I probably won’t make it until April. So, we’ll see. Unfortunately, though I really like my current job, I’m not allowed to make outside income. Which was hard for all the reasons you can imagine (including being paid very, very lowly as it is), but with the unexpected influence of not being able to try to publish anything because winning the money would get me fired…sigh. I don’t necessarily think I would get published, but I would like to try, and if it weren’t for my job it would be one of my goals for 2015.

If you’re the kind of person who sets resolutions, let me know what yours are, or if we have any in common! Resolutions or not, I hope this year brings you all happiness and success.

6 thoughts on “Goals for 2015

  1. Good luck with your goals in 2015! I think it’s very important to be specific with your goals so that you are forced to stick more closely with what you want to accomplish, and avoid going easy on yourself. In the same way, it’s good to make them realistic. Maybe my first goal for 2015 is to set some goals…

    • Thank you! Yeah being specific is good, otherwise like I said, I find loopholes…good luck with your goal-finding! I bet there’s tons of “My Goals for 2015” posts floating about for inspiration at the moment. πŸ™‚

  2. Someone, somewhere said, that if we write down our goals it makes them more real, and helps us be more accountable….

    I think there is some truth to that.

    For a (Short) time (before life got crazy and stole me away from my blog) I participated in ‘Green Embers’ – Building Rome community – http://greenembe.rs/building-rome-faq/. I ran/walked 3 kilometers every day for a while and very much appreciated the encouragement of the community πŸ™‚

    Just one more step of accountability when we share our goals with others!

    Great work, and I wish you all the best for the coming year!

    Miss Lou
    x

    • Yeah I’ve never really written them down before, I hope it helps me stay accountable!

      Communities help a lot too – that’s partly why I started a writing circle, to try and keep me active and talking with people about writing.

      Thank you very much for your well wishes, I wish the same for you!! I’m sure you’ll have a lot of success this year.

      I’ll also check out the Building Rome thing, thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Hey guys | An Inkling

Share your thoughts

