Blog / Uncategorized

Future of the Blog

Hello hello hello.

I know it’s been awhile.

I’ve been thinking about what to do with my blog, and I’m not sure.

The most popular stuff on here has always been the stuff about Japan, and now that I’m not going there, at least at no point in the near future, I started feeling like I was at a standstill of what to write about.

I still have plenty of memories that I could share, and I still have intercultural relationship – related things I could share. But they’d eventually run out, and I don’t want this to purely be a nostalgia blog.

So I’m not sure what to do. I’ve been really struggling trying to find work, and that has taken most of my energy. That combined with a lack of direction for the blog has made it hard to post anything.

But I’ve also been writing more regularly than I ever have before, which is a nice change. Every morning for at least a couple of hours (with the help of coffee and being essentially unemployed). However, I’ve been writing long-form fiction, so it’s not anything I can show people for awhile.

One of the pieces of advice you hear again and again about blogs is to make it about ONE thing. But I don’t think I can do that. I couldn’t write only about Japan and never write about human rights or writing or exercise or whatever else it is I’ve written about so far. I also couldn’t write solely about human rights and never about Japan and so on. So, I’m afraid that’s one piece of advice I’m going to have to willfully ignore. I know the wisdom in it. I get it. I just can’t do it.

I could start a blog for each of those topics – but I know I’d find it much harder to keep posting if it wasn’t all in one place. Learned that from the tanka thing. (Though, if I was posting regularly here I might post there regularly too – but I felt guilty posting there daily without ever posting here.)

In summary, I’m kind of at a loss. I like the WordPress community a lot; it’s one of the most positive internet communities I’ve ever come across, and I don’t want to leave. I just don’t know the way forward.

I’ve thought about having a schedule – i.e. post on Monday about Japan, Wednesday about human rights, and Friday with something miscellaneous, Saturday with “Podcasts of the Week.” Something like that. But I don’t know how much time I can commit while I work on this fiction and I search for a job, and continue the ones I have. Technically I have 2 – 4 right now, depending on how you count. But they’re all low-earning, low commitment. If I get another one that is a bigger time commitment, that will make it even harder.

So I have to think seriously about how much time I’m willing to invest in the blog. I’m thinking of making a schedule similar to the one above and trying it out, but I think it would be helpful if I prepare at least about a months-worth of posts in advance before launching it.

I don’t know. I did know I wanted to reach out in case other people were still reading this blog and say that I’m still here, and I still like the site. I’m just unsure where to go from here.

If you have any advice, or even just a comment about what you want me to keep / throw away, I’d love to hear it.

Here’s (virtual) food for your thoughts (get it?).

IMG_2794

2 thoughts on “Future of the Blog

  1. What, blogs should only be about one thing? Well that must explain why mine is so off, lol. You’re at a crossroads right now and my only advice is to blog about things you want to blog about and any ‘bogging rules’ be damned. I’ve found for myself, schedules don’t work. Setting up tasks do. So I have a little list (usually mental) of things I want to blog about and whenever I get around to blogging about them is when I get around to blogging about them.

    • Yeah, making your blog have focus and fit into a niche is the #1 advice on any “how-to” blog list I’ve ever read, anyway. But I would get so bored! Thanks for the advice and the comment! I will think about that as an alternative to schedules.

Share your thoughts

